What's the worst job you've ever had?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Puss_in_boots, Jul 27, 2007.

1. Puss_in_boots

Puss_in_boots Adminatrix
    Gold Member

This is inspired/spun off the "what to you do for a living thread." It's kind of cool reading about the various jobs we :sf members do. What was the absolute worst job you've ever had?

I've had a lot of jobs in my time...some good, some bad. I've slung tacos at Taco Bell, slung spaghetti (worked as a waitress) at an Italian restaurant, slung coffee (worked as a barista) at a drive in coffee bar and many, many more. I paid my minimum wage dues long before I got my degree and started teaching and writing for a living.

However, the worst job I ever had was working as a telephone sales representative/telemarketer for a vitamin and herbal supplement company. That job sucked so much I would get psychosomatically ill just from the thought of having to go into work.

2. cook74

Gold Member

Unskilled labor on a building site during school holidays when I was young, and having to go into small tunnels to clean out sewage:eek:eek

3. cbrmale

Gold Member

During university holidays I once worked in a factory that made welded steel mesh. For nine-and-a-half hours a day we pulled a sheet of mesh out of the maching and lay it on the ground. And then we pulled the next sheet out and turned it over and lay it on top. And then the next sheet flat and so on until we had a stack and we could call a crane. Boring!

An alternative was to cut trench mesh with bolt cutters for nine and-a-half hours. Trench mesh (laid in foundations for brick walls) was very thick gauge; too thick to cut by machine, so it took muscle power to do it. Boring and painful!

4. bighiker2003

bighiker2003 Banned

Selling popcorn and coke at a theatre
    when I was i High School.

Hiker

5. Barbwire

Gold Member