Virus

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by johnnyangel694u, Aug 16, 2015.

  1. johnnyangel694u

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,152
    Likes Received:
    2,149
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    For the past couple days whenever I visit a porn a site, I get a screen that says I have a virus and need to call a phone number. I know it is fake but is anyone else having the same problem. It basically locks up my computer and is really annoying.
     
  2. jt _couple2012

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    4,929
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    AR
    It's a worm. The easiest way to fix it is go to control panel, system restore and restore your computer to earlier time, maybe a month behind. This will take about 20 min
    If u try scanning the system or fixing it any other way you are gonna waste a whole day for nothing. Message me if u need help
    Good luck
    T
     
  3. jt _couple2012

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    4,929
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    AR
    U may have to do this in safe mode. Turn the pc off by pressing the power bottom, turn it back on and Press the setting F key while starting, usually F10 or 12, choose to start the system in safe mode and do the system restore from there.
     
    johnnyangel694u and loves2ride like this.
  4. HeartsDesire

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,258
    Likes Received:
    2,742
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Merica
    That's why I don't visit porn sites :D:rolleyes:
     
  5. Mikey22

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,405
    Likes Received:
    884
    Gender:
    Male
    It's not just the porn sites. I look at the same 3 or 4 sites all the time. No problem. Untill I looked up a local bike shop, Trying to price some Mountan bikes. I've had a virus or a worm ever since. I was at my parents house once, Looking up some information about landscape and design. Shrub's trees and grass.That one crashed the computer. It had to be replaced:mad: My daughter crashed one by looking up Thomas the train:eek: Any site can have a virus on it.
     
    johnnyangel694u likes this.
  6. BigTitLover

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    346
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    STL
    Malwarebytes is a good scanner to run weekly. There is a free and paid versions.

    https://www.malwarebytes.org/

    Run it along side an antivirus scanner like AVAST, Kapersky, ect..
     
    johnnyangel694u likes this.
  7. AGFUNK

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,974
    Likes Received:
    3,237
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    IL
    Ad aware has always worked for me. It's free, you just have to change some settings so it's annoying traits are not on.
     
    johnnyangel694u and lucky5338 like this.
  8. HeartsDesire

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    5,258
    Likes Received:
    2,742
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Merica
    I run maintance on my comp constantly. Malwayre...spyware...avg.....defraggler...you name it I probably run it.lol
     
    johnnyangel694u likes this.
  9. Barent

    Verified Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    7,278
    Location:
    New York (Couple)
    've used the free Malwarebytes program for a few years, until recently when it quarantined a number of important parts of my computer, which resulted in major problems that I thought was virus. I set the computer back, now knowing, and by the time I realized that I had to unquarantine the items in Malwarebytes, my printing spool was affected and now I cannot use my printer.

    Of course if you have the paid malawarebytes they'll help you fix the damage.

    I am never going back to Malwerbytes.
     
  10. Barent

    Verified Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    7,278
    Location:
    New York (Couple)
    You should have saved your work elsewhere, nuked the computer and started afresh. Even if you couldn't back up your work, the computer is still going to be as good as new once you delete everything, including the virus.

    But., as was mentioned, setting it back to an earlier time, and running a good virus scan, usually gets rid of the problem.
     
    #10 Barent, Aug 18, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2015
    HeartsDesire likes this.
  11. Barent

    Verified Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    7,278
    Location:
    New York (Couple)
    I had the "FBI Virus" once. It takes over everything, you can't get into your computer, it accuses you of looking at illegal web images and demands a payment of a fine, in order to have your computer back. I think that they wanted a WalMart or other stores' prepaid VISA payment. They can even turn on your computer's camera, if you have one hooked up (I did not), take your picture, and make it part of an official-looking subpoena type of document. This, of course, is not the way the FBI or any law enforcement bureau operates. I turned off the computer, entered in "Safe" mode, restored it to an earlier time, and when finished I ran a virus scan which located the virus, and I then deleted it.
     
    danrb007 likes this.