STD: Herpes

Discussion in 'General Sex Discussion' started by Jerrrry80, Oct 26, 2010.

1. Jerrrry80

Jerrrry80 New Member

Hey there,

I am new to SF and I hate that this is my first post but it is driving me crazy.

I recently became aware that I have genital herpes, I was given some meds by my doctor which cleared it up, but it seems like they come back about once every month or two.

I have read all sorts of home remedies and know that stress plays a big factor in it as well...

Does anybody know anything to help reduce outbreaks or anything else that would help?

Any advice would be greatfully appreciated.

J

2. Mittimer

Gold Member

The only thing I've found to reduce the outbreaks is this article. Copy pasting for you.

Can sexual intercourse bring on an outbreak?
    Some people find that the friction of sexual intercourse irritates the skin and sometimes triggers a recurrence of symptoms. This is most likely to occur if intercourse is prolonged and vigorous, or if there is insufficient lubrication.
    Having less vigorous sex and using a water-based lubricant can help reduce the chances of this happening. Don't use one that contains the Spermicide nonoxynol-9, as this ingredient can irritate mucous membranes, such as the lining of the vagina. Oil-based lubricants are also a no-no as they weaken latex, making condoms more likely to break.
    Even if the friction of intercourse seems to be a trigger for your symptoms, it probably won't cause a flare-up every time you have sex. It is very important that you refrain from having sexual intercourse or contact with the infected area during an active outbreak, as this could spread the virus as well as prolong your outbreak.

And below is a list of items that help cause outbreaks, so these are things to avoid.

Phyisical Factors: ​

• Being run-down
    • Suffering from other genital infections (affecting the local skin area)
    • Menstruation Cycle
    • Pregnancy
    • Drinking a lot of alcohol