Job help

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by ninja08hippie, Oct 21, 2008.

1. ninja08hippie

ninja08hippie Official SF Hugger
    Gold Member

I've been job hunting for 3 months, I have accounts at Monster and Hotjobs and go through newspapers city by city in the classified applying to jobs. I'm a better programmer than most of the people that I graduated with, but I still can't find a job. I've gotten about ten interviews, but then never hear back from them. Anyone have any advice on getting noticed?

I'm also low on money and starting to get student loan bills, it's also leading me towards depression :( I'm going to go crawl in a hole for a while.

2. igor

Gold Member

Have you given your resume to any employment agencies/head hunters?

3. Joe

Joe
    Gold Member

"Anyone have any advice on getting noticed?"

Go to your next interview naked. I promise you'll be noticed. Not hired, but....

Where are you located, other than G-spot? Some parts of the country have high unemployment rates and other parts are begging for any warm-blooded body that can pass a drug test. Find the part of the country that needs more programmers and look for work there.

Are you staying in contact with your old classmates? Contact as many as you can, and let them know you're looking for work. If they're working and are valued at their workplace, a good word from them to their employer might land you a job. Get out there and network.

Follow-up any interview with a phone call a week or so later. If they've hired someone else, look for clues as to why the other person was hired instead of you. Tell them you're still looking for the right job and ask if they expect any more openings or if they know of anyone else looking for someone with your skills.