Is it possible to be truly in love with two people at once?

Discussion in 'Sex and Relationships' started by Barbwire, Feb 28, 2011.

1. Barbwire

Gold Member

There's a question I've been mulling over in my head for a few years and wanted to how other people would answer it and more importantly, tell me why they answered the way they did.

So, what do you think, is it possible to be truly in love with two people at once?

2. nurseharley

Gold Member

i believe so. even though we may not want to have feelings for another person or feel as though we shouldn't, we can't always control how we feel.

i've been in a relationship but gotten close to someone else and eventually emotions got into the mix and progressed. it felt wrong but i couldn't do anything to stop the way i felt.

3. NewGuy85

NewGuy85 Active Member

I would say so, yeah. It may not be the easiest thing to deal with and it may not even be right. But in the strictest sense youre feeings for one person shouldnt make you care any less for another person.

Technically part of your love for someone may be not allowing yourself to fall in love with someone else. But does that mean it cant happen? I dont think so. Because we dont always have the ability to control how we feel about people. You could stay away entirely. But assuming you're past that point, i think its entirely possible to love that person as well.

#3 NewGuy85, Feb 28, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011
  4. Barbwire

Gold Member

Thank you for your responeses.

I always believed it wasn't possible until I met the man I've called my virtual lover for 3 1/2 years. I spent the first year or two of our developing relationship trying to wrap my head around how I felt about him. It felt so foreign and wrong and against everything I'd always been taught and believed, I hated myself for it.