I suck.

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Jayce, May 2, 2007.

1. Jayce

Gold Member

My inspection on my car was due 5 weeks ago. Oopsie.

2. smallpackage

smallpackage New Member

We don't have required inspections in Oregon. That must suck.

3. Jayce

Gold Member

Yeah. It's garbage. It wouldn't be so bad if these mechanic shops didn't charge you and arm and a leg for simple parts. On top of that, a lot of mechanic shops won't pass stuff that could be fine for another year. It's bullshit. I look at it like insurance. I mean... who the fuck tries to charge a 20 year old with a clean driving record 4,500 dollars a year to insure a vehicle worth about 6,000? WTF is wrong with this picture?

So many things would change if I were president.

4. smallpackage

smallpackage New Member

Umm..you either have a crazy dangerous car, bad credit or just simply need to find a new insurance company. I am a lisenced agent and can tell you that you are paying way too much.

Try checking with progressive, or if your credit isn't very good, check with American Family.

5. Jayce

Gold Member

I'm as baffled as you are. And no, I'm not paying 4,500. I'm paying 2,000, which to me is still high as balls.

I drive a 2001 Elantra, 4 cylinder 5 speed. Thing has 4 airbags in it (two front and two side impact). Very nice car, for someone like me at least who commutes about 100 mi/day.

I have great credit. I've had a cell phone ever since I can remember and now I have a car payment. Everything has always been paid ahead of time and moreso than what the minimal balance is.

I had one ticket over 4 and a half years ago, which none of the insurance companies I checked with seemed to even care that far back.

State Farm wanted 4,800.
    Progressive wanted 4,200.
    Geico wanted 4,300.