? about those emotionicons

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by misty_gurrl, Dec 29, 2006.

  1. misty_gurrl

    misty_gurrl New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    midwest
    I hope this is the place to ask?

    Those smiley faces you add .. to your post.. or reply

    Well .. I can't put them in .. i click on them .. nothing happens??
    they worked before for me .. but since today .. they don't anymore?

    Anyone got an idea.. why they don't come up?

    And please ... nooo high tech PC lingo.. I'm not very geeky in that stuff ..*LOL* <<===="see i tried puttin in a laughing face here" .. nothing works?

    GOD!! .. I'm such a emotional person .. i need my smileys back ..HELP!!!!!

    Thanx
     
  2. AnonymousOne

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    ... you use colons ... :whatever:
     
  3. Ryan

    Ryan Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    15,707
    Likes Received:
    1
    Actually, there are none at the end.
     
  4. misty_gurrl

    misty_gurrl New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    midwest
    Still nothing this morning .. ~pout~

    i tried using those .. colons? .. :::::::::?? whatever?

    nooo smiley faces came up!! grrrrrr

    Why did it work fine before?
    and yesterday ... Naa-Daa .. nothing.. ziltch? .. *LOL* <<<=== see this is all i can do .. is type the (*LOL*) .. nooo face?
     
  5. Ryan

    Ryan Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    15,707
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had someone PM me so I thought it may be an issue with the template, but I tried using them and they worked fine? What browser do you use?
     
  6. misty_gurrl

    misty_gurrl New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    midwest
    I think it's called internet explorer 7?

    does that help any?

    After that.. i'm a major "Duh" .. in computers .. *LOL*

    and still noo luck with the smileys

    Why should they go .. "Poof" .. after 1 day?
    Worked fine before

    Thanx
     
  7. Hot Wheels

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sydney,Australia
    Yeah, Im having problems as well Misty, my smileys dont work either...:(
     
  8. Bluesy

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Female
    The smilies aren't working for me, nor are any of the other options around the box. I can't start a new poll, either. Something is buggy in the forums of SF, methinks.
     
  9. misty_gurrl

    misty_gurrl New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    midwest
    Not only don't the smileys work... but the edit is out too

    i just found that out .. now i got .."Typos" .. all over that i can't fix!! ..grrrrr
     
  10. Bluesy

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    3,779
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Female
    I feel your pain! I can't do anything anymore. The smilies aren't working, nor is anything else. I can't edit, either. I've tried using two different browsers to see if there's a problem with the one I generally use, and I'm having problems regardless.

    I wish someone would offer some advice or something. HINT. (Sorry, the frustration is getting to me :p <---- Had to use characters to get this because now even :smilie description isn't working for me.)
     
  11. Hot Wheels

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sydney,Australia
    My smileys are "still" not working......can anyone tell me how to fix this???
    Driving me nuts......grrrrr
     
  12. pirouette

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    Ditch the internet explorer and get firefox. :)
     
  13. misty_gurrl

    misty_gurrl New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    midwest

    Why do that?

    This S/F site .. outta how many millions of other sites .. is the only one with probs!

    Internet explorer 7.. is not the problem

    everything worked fine ... till 8 or 10 days ago ... then went ... ziltch ..zero

    the probs.. are right here .. at S/F


    Why?? .. can't anyone understand?? .. geeeesh
     
  14. bighiker2003

    bighiker2003 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Northern Indiana
    Misty you are not alone.
    This site has been hacked 3 times in as many weeks.
    making a post and a PM is the only thing I can do.
    All the other forumns work fine, So some one is zeroing in on SF
    3 times now the site was completely down. And the hackers had their own page in its place for 3 days each time. And each time all the
    forum features were useless. My HTML code is set to off, I have no idea
    if that has anything to do with the problem, as I have no way to turn it on and off. to try it.
    OK all you computer people out their give us a clue as to what could be wrong, and how to correct it.
     
  15. heelfetish

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    7,392
    Likes Received:
    6
    There is likely a problem with the html/php coding of the site that is causing the problems. Ryan did some upgrades to fix the security holes, and chances are those upgrades are the culprit. Internet Explorer does not follow the strict HTML standards, which is likely why it does not work, yet the other standards-based browsers (such as Firefox) continue to work.

    It is for that reason that people are suggesting that if those features are important to you that you try Firefox in the meantime, until Ryan has a chance to debug the forum code in Internet Explorer.

    A little patience goes a long way. Ryan has been working hard to keep the forums up and running, despite someone's obvious attempts to bring them down. He should be applauded for his efforts, rather than have people upset. :)
     
  16. bighiker2003

    bighiker2003 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Northern Indiana
    I dont have the least idea what firefox is or how to get it.
    but Ryan did say that he doesnt have spellcheck.
    I also have fotomat, autolink and a host of other features
    that came with the upgraded browser that I dont wish to get rid of.
     
  17. heelfetish

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    7,392
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you want to download Firefox, you can get it at http://www.getfirefox.com :)

    It has a built-in spell check that works a lot like MS Word, and you just may like many of it's other features.
     
  18. Hot Wheels

    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sydney,Australia
    My sentiments exactly....why do I have to stuff around with this "firefox" stuff when up until a couple of weeks ago, my Internet Explorer worked just fine?
    Im a member of several other forums and they seem to work perfectly, so obviously the problem is within SF.
    Ryan, we all appreciate your efforts and Im sure that eventually you'll get it all sorted,... just frustrating at the moment is all...
     
  19. Puss_in_boots

    Puss_in_boots Adminatrix
    Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,443
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Female
    I'd suggest switching over to Firefox because it is an all around superior web browser. You don't have to use Internet Explorer just because it came preinstalled with your PC. Internet Explorer is the most popular web browser and therefore the biggest target of malicious software. i.e.: adware, spyware, viruses, etc.

    I made the switch to Firefox years ago and I've never regretted it, and you won't either. You don't have to keep using an inferior product just because you're used to it.

    Change is good.
     
  20. Ryan

    Ryan Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    15,707
    Likes Received:
    1
    I see the errors in IE7, I doubt there is anything I can do as I don't code the forums and this was probably related to the restore. Internet Exploder is a insuperior browser that has lots of coding flaws.

    I'll try some things, they may or may not work. Will do later tonight.